Neil Diamond

Neil DiamondThe Very Best of Neil Diamond

Album released 26th November

Neil Diamond is one of the most popular live performers in the world and with a career spanning over five decades, Diamond had sold over 125 million records worldwide. He has had eight number one hit singles, “Cracklin Rose”, “Song Sung Blue”, “Desiree”, “You Don’t Bring Me Flowers”, “Love on the Rocks”, “America”, “Yesterday’s Songs”, and “Heartlight”. Not bad for a boy whose journey began studying medicine at NYU until during his senior year a music publishing company made him an offer he couldn’t refuse. This was the beginning of his road to stardom.

Diamond was inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in 1984 and into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2011. Additionally, he received the Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award in 2000 and in 2011 was an honoree at the Kennedy Center Honors. Diamond would also garner a Golden Globe Award for Best Original Score and a Grammy Award for Best Score Soundtrack Album for a Motion Picture for the film version of Richard Bach’s “Jonathan Livingston Seagull”. Recently the musical legend crowned that five decade career with a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. Renowned composer Randy Newman said at the ceremony “He is one of those people rare in entertainment, who America loves”.

The new long-awaited definitive single disc compilation of 23 best-loved hits and signature tracks from America’s quintessential singer-songwriter is the first Neil Diamond collection to draw from the artist’s complete studio discography. “The Very Best of Neil Diamond” – The Original Studio Records includes his first pop chartings as a writer/performer for Bang Records in the mid-1960s; his spectacular career-defining hits for Uni/MCA (1968-1972); music from 1980’s “The Jazz Singer” (his 5x platinum-selling soundtrack album on Capitol Records) and studio essentials from a long-running association with Columbia Records that began in 1973 with the Jonathan Livingston Seagull soundtrack album and runs through a pair of Rick Rubin-produced albums: 12 Songs (2005) and “Home Before Dark” (which became Neil’s first Number 1 album on the Billboard 200 in 2008).

1.Forever in Blue Jeans
2. Beautiful Noise
3. Love on the Rocks
4. Cherry, Cherry
5. I Am…I Said
6. Sweet Caroline
7. Cracklin’ Rosie
8. Play Me
9. I’m a Believer
10. Girl, You’ll Be a Woman Soon
11. Holly Holy
12. Solitary Man
13. Song Sung Blue
14. You Don’t Bring Me Flowers
15. Hello Again
16. Red, Red Wine
17. If You Know What I Mean
18. Brother Love’s Traveling Salvation Show
19. Pretty Amazing Grace
20. Kentucky Woman
21. Shilo
22. America
23. Hell Yeah

For all media enquiries / interview requests, please contact:
Daniel Hinchliffe at Soundcheck Entertainment
T: 020 7437 0290

Download the Neil Diamond press release as a PDF