offthe wall



• Exclusive edition of the Michael Jackson’s revolutionary 1979 Off the Wall produced by Quincy Jones

• Includes a new documentary Michael Jackson’s Journey from Motown to Off the Wall directed by Spike Lee

• Released on 26 February 2016

Sony Music Entertainment are proud to announce the release of an exclusive edition of Michael Jackson’s revolutionary 1979 recording Off the Wall bundled with a new documentary Michael Jackson’s Journey from Motown to Off the Wall, directed by Spike Lee on Friday 26 February 2016.

The importance of Michael Jackson’s Off the Wall cannot be overstated. Recorded when he was just 20-years-old, the album heralded Michael’s emancipation as a singular musical force and creative visionary. It’s the record that “invented modern pop as we know it” according to Rolling Stone magazine. It smashed the ceiling on record sales for black artists, ushering in an exciting new era of R&B-to-pop crossover airplay, chart, marketing and sales trends not seen before in modern pop music. Written by Michael Jackson, the first single from Off The Wall, ‘Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough,’ was Michael’s first Grammy and first single to hit No. 1 in the U.S. and internationally as a solo artist. With the singles ‘Rock With You,’ ‘Off the Wall’ and ‘She’s Out of My Life,’ Jackson became the first solo artist in history to have four singles from the same album peak inside the top 10 of the Billboard Hot 100.

For Michael Jackson’s Journey from Motown to Off the Wall, director Spike Lee assembles a wealth of archival footage, including material from Michael’s personal archive, interviews with contemporary talents and family members, and Michael’s own words and image to create this insightful chronicle from the star’s early rise to fame through the release of this seminal album. A look at a chapter of his career that is rarely examined, Michael Jackson’s Journey from Motown to Off theWall allows audiences to travel with Michael as he gets his start at Motown, strikes a new path with CBS Records, and forges a relationship with legendary producer Quincy Jones. An illuminated portrait emerges of how an earnest, passionate, hard-working boy would become the “King of Pop.”

Beautifully bundled together the deluxe soft pack; Off the Wall includes a 16-page booklet containing a new essay and photography plus a piece of chalk and inside panels with a chalkboard finish. Off the Wall will also be available on Blu-ray.

Michael Jackson is one of the most beloved entertainers and profoundly influential artists of all-time. To date Michael Jackson has sold 1 billion records worldwide, released 13 No.1 singles and became one of a handful of artists to be inducted twice into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. The Guinness Book ofWorld Records recognised Michael Jackson as the Most Successful Entertainer of All Time. Michael Jackson’s sound, style and dance moves continue to inspire today’s performers and new generations of fans worldwide continue to discover his artistry – Off the Wall has stood the test of time as one of his greatest bodies of work.

Michael Jackson’s Off the Wall (CD/DVD) is available now for pre-order

Website / Facebook / Twitter / Newsletter

Michael Jackson – Off the Wall (CD/DVD/Blu-Ray)
Track Listing:
1. Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough
2. Rock With You
3. Workin’ Day And Night
4. Get On The Floor
5. Off The Wall
6. Girlfriend
7. She’s Out Of My Life
8. I Can’t Help It
9. It’s The Falling In Love
10. Burn This Disco Out

Documentary: Michael Jackson’s Journey from Motown to Off the Wall

CAT NO: 888751244726

For all enquiries regarding this release, please contact:
Daniel Hinchliffe or Hannah Tollman at The Soundcheck Group
T: 0207 437 0290