John Barrowman

John Barrowman‘You Raise Me Up’, John’s first self-funded album in collaboration with PledgeMusic, is a really special album as his fans have essentially helped him make it. The new release features eleven classic tracks that have helped map out an illustrious career including some of John’s favourite contemporary tracks.

You Raise Me Up showcases John’s effortless voice with classic tracks such as ‘Mandy’, ‘You Raise Me Up’ and the seminal classic ‘Bridge Over Troubled Waters’. Plus some surprise contemporary tracks like Celine Dion’s ‘That’s The Way It Is’ and ‘Skyscraper’. This album is a beautiful collection sung by a timeless voice; one of the standout tracks is John’s interpretation of the much loved ‘A Thousand Years’.

Perhaps best known for his role as Sci-fi hero Captain Jack Harkness whose appearance in ‘Doctor Who’ catapulted him into his own spin off ‘Torchwood’, the show was a huge success in the UK and the American audiences became hooked. So much so the show achieved the best viewing figures ever on BBC America and has since been broadcast around the world.
Most recently John has been seen hosting ‘Superstar Dogs’ for Channel 4 and is about to present ‘John Barrowman’s Pet Hospital’ this summer also for Channel 4. Whilst for ABC in the USA he will be hosting the new entertainment show ‘Sing Your Face Off’. John has already had US success in spring 2010 when he appeared in a five-episode guest-starring role on ABC’s ‘Desperate Housewives’. He recently appeared in the recurring role of Malcolm Merlyn (aka The Dark Archer) in ‘Arrow’, based on the Green Arrow comic books, for The CW network in the US. He also had a guest-starring role as a political fixer in the ABC series, ‘Scandal’.

John has presented many shows over years such as ‘Alive and Kicking’, ‘Children in Need’ for Wales and BBC Scotland, a judge on ‘How To Solve a Problem Like Maria?’ as well as hosting his own primetime Saturday night, BBC1 entertainment show, ‘Tonight’s The Night’, in which he made people’s dreams come true.

Track Listing
1. A Thousand Years
2. Listen to the Music
3. You Raise Me Up
4. Skyscraper
5. Mandy
6. That’s the Way It Is
7. Bridge Over Troubled Water
8. Goodbye My Friend
9. This is the Moment
10. Hollywood
11. Loch Lomond

Album available to pre-order from Wednesday 14th May on iTunes and Amazon, and available immediately on Pledge Music.

Further information please contact:
Soundcheck Entertainment
0207 437 0290

Download the John Barrowman press release as a PDF