Art Garfunkel

Art GarfunkelAlbum released October 8th

Pulling together one man’s remarkable career in music, “The Singer” is a 34-song collection of songs hand-picked by the artist himself. Spanning a life’s body of work from the first Simon & Garfunkel album of 1964 “Wednesday Morning, 3am” through 2007’s Great American Songbook album “Some Enchanted Evening” and continuing with two newly recorded performances for this release “Lena” and “Long Way Home”.

The voice and soul of a true American poet have illuminated the work of Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame inductee Art Garfunkel for nearly five decades. It is there on record – the Simon & Garfunkel LPs of 1964 to 1970 on Columbia, and his deep catalogue as a solo artist starting in 1973 as well as in film, and on the printed page, his 1987 collection of prose poetry, “Still Water”. Five-time Grammy® Award-winner Art Garfunkel has always approached every new project with the poet’s perspective.

Garfunkel’s work with Simon earned seven Grammy® Awards, starting off at the 1969 ceremony, with two for “Mrs Robinson” (from the movie The Graduate), namely Record of the Year and Best Contemporary Pop Performance/ Duo or Group. Two years later, “Bridge Over Troubled Water” was voted Album of the Year, and the title song swept Record of the Year, Song of the Year, Best Contemporary Song, Best Arrangement Accompanying Vocalists, and Best Engineered Recording. (In 1977, “Bridge Over Troubled Water” received England’s prestigious Britannia Award as the Best International Pop LP and Single of the previous 25 years.

The life and times of Art Garfunkel course throughout “The Singer” especially felt in the reverence for songs that make up the American pop vernacular. Two of Garfunkel’s signature performances hit #1 on the Billboard Adult Contemporary (AC) chart: “I Only Have Eyes For You” and Sam Cooke’s “What Wonderful World”. Garfunkel’s roster of #1 AC hits also includes “All I Know” (his debut single as a solo artist in 1973, a Jimmy Webb composition); the 1975 reunion duet with Simon on “My Little Town” and “Breakaway” written by England’s Gallagher & Lyle.

“The Singer” contains many more examples of Garfunkel’s unerring way with pop tunes from our collective past, “Barbara Allen”, “Disney Girls”, “I Wonder Why”, “When A Man Loves A Woman”, “Crying in the Rain” and “Two Sleepy People”. Art wrote a paragraph (liner notes) for each of the 34 songs. It has Art and his wife, Kathryn semi-clad, on a swing in a primeval garden on the back of the CD! “The Singer”, as a collection takes on a timeless air, moving back and forth through time in a seamless pattern. The theme stays true – THE SINGER can sing!


CD One
1. “Bridge Over Troubled Water” (Bridge Over Troubled Water, 1970)
2. “All I Know” with Jimmy Webb (up ’til now, 1993)
3. “Perfect Moment” with Buddy Mondlock & Maia Sharp (everything waits
to be noticed, 2002)
4. “For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her” (Simon & Garfunkel’s Greatest Hits, 1972)
5. “Crying in the Rain” with James Taylor (up ’til now, 1993)
6. “I Only Have Eyes For You” with Nicky Hopkins (piano) (Breakaway, 1975)
7. “99 Miles From L.A.” (Breakaway, 1975)
8. “(What A) Wonderful World” with James Taylor and Paul Simon (Watermark, 1978)
9. “Bright Eyes” (Fate For Breakfast, 1979)
10. “Two Sleepy People,” arranged by Dick Hyman (up ’til now, 1993)
11. “Skywriter” with Nicky Hopkins (piano) (up’til now, 1993)
12. “Scarborough Fair/Canticle” (Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme, 1966)
13. “Some Enchanted Evening” (Some Enchanted Evening, 2007)
14. “The Promise” produced by Steve Gadd (drums) and Geoff Emerick (Lefty, 1988) 15. “The Thread” with Maia Sharp and Buddy Mondlock” (everything waits
to be noticed, 2002)
16. “Lena” featuring Dean Parks (guitar) – Previously unreleased
17. “Barbara Allen” (Angel Clare, 1973)

CD Two
1. “Kathy’s Song” (Simon & Garfunkel – Old Friends: Live On Stage, 2004)
2. “Long Way Home” with Maia Sharp – Previously unreleased
3. “Scissors Cut” with Leah Kunkel (Scissors Cut, 1981)
4. “The Sound Of Silence” (Wednesday Morning, 3 AM, 1964)
5. “Breakaway” with Graham Nash and David Crosby (Breakaway, 1975)
6. “So Long Frank Lloyd Wright” (Bridge Over Troubled Water, 1970)
7. “Waters Of March” with Billy Payne (keyboards) (Breakaway, 1975)
8. “The Decree” (The Animals’ Christmas, 1986)
9. “I Wonder Why” with Kenny Rankin (Lefty, 1988)
10. “Disney Girls” with Bruce Johnston (piano) and Toni Tenille (Breakaway, 1975)
11. “My Little Town” (Breakaway, 1975)
12. “O Come All Ye Faithful” with Eric Weissberg (Acoustic Christmas, 1990)
13. “A Heart In New York” with Michael Brecker (tenor sax) (Scissors Cut, 1981)
14. “I’ve Grown Accustomed To Her Face” (Some Enchanted Evening, 2007)
15. “April Come She Will” (Sounds Of Silence, 1965)
16. “When A Man Loves A Woman” with Jeremy Steig (flute) and Michael Brecker (tenor sax) (Lefty, 1988)
17. “In Cars” (Scissors Cut, 1981)

For Media Information, please contact:
Soundcheck Entertainment
T: 0207 437 0290

Download the Art Garfunkel press release as a PDF